~ BIONIC DEE ~

We Can Rebuild Her……..we think

Welcome to my World

on August 1, 2012

They say writing is therapeutic…..well welcome to the circus I call my mind. There’s a whole lot going on up there, so this should be interesting. Sometimes it’s hard for me to tell people how I feel. It’s easier to write it down and figure out how to process it that way. So here goes. The Bionic Dee part comes from all the times I felt like I was “rebuilding” myself after something happened in my life. Breakups, death, injuries….they all take a piece of you and leave you with this new you that needs shaping. I decided to go back to college in my late 20’s because I finally figured out what I wanna be when I grow up. I’m a Forensic Psychology major at Kaplan University working on getting my Bachelors degree and then my Masters (big plans!). My goal is to work within a police department as a department shrink or become a counselor (we’ll see what happens). When I’m not working on papers I’m either watching sports, watching a movie or reading a book. You know that giant library from Beauty & the Beast, the one with the floor to ceiling bookshelves, yeah I want that in my house. Bookworm, book hoarder, I don’t get stuck on titles. The sports I spend the most time watching are football (Go Steelers! Go U Texas Longhorns!), baseball (love me some Phillies), hockey (this Flyers fan bleeds orange & black) and rugby (eh I’m still undecided). I’m not going to sit here and list all the shows I watch because that list is ridiculously long. Just like the list of my favorite movies is ridiculously long too. But I will say my top five are: E.T.; Braveheart, Silence of the Lambs, Nightmare on Elm Street (the original with Robert Englund!!!) and The Dark Knight.

Like I said before, there’s always something that happens that makes me feel like I’m rebuilding myself again. Spent the bulk of my childhood taking martial arts, so you’d think I wouldn’t be so bothered by injuries. You’d be wrong. Had knee surgery in 2009. Recovering from that was like watching Bambi learn how to walk, awkward but not nearly as cute. Now I’m on the mend with a lower back injury thanks to a car accident. This is proving to be a bigger pain in the ass than my knee. I can’t work. I can’t go to the gym. Half the time I can’t sit up straight. I bust my ass every week in physical therapy trying to get better, but it wears on you after a while. I get depressed hearing about other people enjoying their summer and living it up while I’m stuck on the sofa. I miss my life. I miss being able to dance. I miss not worrying about everything. I know this is temporary but sometimes it’s so damn hard to remember that. My thoughts get clouded by what I’m going through now and it’s hard to think about this ending. If it weren’t for my boyfriend and some really great friends/family I would go nuts. For those who don’t know me that well, my friends are my family (my bio family chooses to pretend I don’t exist and I have no problem doing the same).

The hardest thing I’ve ever gone through was losing my mom. She was my hero, my idol, my rock. She died September 29, 2003 from lung cancer. It took me 8 years to stop feeling so lost and angry all the time. I still have my moments when I think about her and I have to fight the tears because I miss her. That rebuild was the hardest. Trying to figure out how to live without her. She was from Texas so she was strong and brave and amazing. Sweet when she needed to be and tough as nails when she had to be. We had our moments when I was a teenager, but let’s face it teenage girls are rough. All moody and hormonal. I think it took me about a year to be able to look in the mirror without crying. I’m the spitting image of my mother, so that was painful. Sometimes I wasn’t sure if I was looking at her or myself. I am my mother’s daughter after all. I’m thankful I had her in my life as long as I did, other people aren’t that lucky. But she helped make me the woman I am today, I’m proud to say she was my momma.

My life isn’t all tears and pain pills though, just most of it. There’s a lot of good times in between. Times when I’ve laughed so hard I peed myself a little. Moments when my face hurt from smiling so much. Days that made me feel like I was walking on sunshine. Isn’t that how life goes though? You laugh, you cry, you get super pissed…..and then you keep going. I hope you’ll stick around for a while, this journey can feel a little lonely sometimes and it’d be nice to have some company.

…….and on that note I need to drag myself to bed. Hugs and ass slaps xoxoxo. Goodnight/morning. “See” you soon….

 

 

For More Like This—–> September, All About Moi, Morning Dialogue

2 responses to “Welcome to my World

  1. maureen says:

    I know how you feel about not being able to do anything, I was the one whith you…… but you are astrong woman an I can hear you roar…..Love you bunches.

You don't need to be a blogger to leave me some love

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

I Wore Yoga Pants To Work

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Brenda Lee

~Memoirs from the heart~

Travels with the Blonde Coyote

Follow the Blonde Coyote and see more of the world!

Nineteenfifteen

Know thyself

In "Nature"... I Believe

~finding faith and inspiration in nature

FilmGordon

A Year in the Life of a True Film Addict!

griefministerdotcom

Embracing Grief with Hope and Promise

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Trend.Shook.co

Shook. Community powered.

The Sexy Single Mommy

Giving it to you straight with no chaser

graphite ventures of the mind

difference is naught we venture.

Pibbles & Me

Spreading Love One Pic At A Time

Forestbather

Study of forests

overworked supermom

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

MessyDirtyHair

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

a flock of crows

a cacophony of rants, reviews and bird feathers

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Thelonelyship

Confessions of a bald guy. Personal blog.

SwittersB & Exploring

Photography, Fly fishing, Life, Visuals & Fun

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Filing Jointly...finally

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Stream of the Conscious

Highlighting the headaches and hilarity that come with raising tiny twins.

All Fooked Up

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

simple-politiks.com/

The Independent Political Website ~ Plain & Simple Politics

Mind of Andy

Improve society through insights & life quality!

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

You Know it Happens at Your House Too

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

I Want a Dumpster Baby

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

ChecklistMommy

Love me, love my lists.

Perception is Everything

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

sugar coated angel

Beauty is within

theblackandwhitedragonfly

To the stolen heart

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Breathe In, Write Out..

My Life in Inklings by N. Knight

withheldindarkness

Poetry, creative writing, songs all in the words of ...

||carlysarah

aspiring storyteller dabbling with words, quotes, and phrases | i believe language to be one of the most beautiful of things in this world, if used properly and with good intention.

River Song

Sylvie Ashford's art and poetry.

Ethereal Heights

a blog by Sharmishtha Basu (Agnishatdal, Agnijaat, Indie Adda and Agnijashatadalama)

Defy Society

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Molenda's Musings

I'm a Molenda, and these are my musings

NealEnJoy

Exploring and Encouraging a Healthy Life Marked with Joy

