~ BIONIC DEE ~

We Can Rebuild Her……..we think

When I Was Your Age

on August 5, 2012

How many times have we heard our elders say “When I was your age”…blah blah blah. It’s like a requirement for one generation to compare itself to this new generation of upstarts. Everywhere I go I see people updating their Facebook status or tweeting about how much their life sucks. Kids today have hundreds of cable channels, DVRs in their rooms, smartphones in their back pockets and Wii remotes in their hands.

When I was a kid I didn’t have all these fancy toys. I didn’t have motion capture video game systems like the Wii and Xbox Kinect. I sat on the floor with my controller in hand trying to get Mario to save Princess Peach from King Koopa. Teens today have iPhones, I had a purple pager. That pager lasted a month before my mom found out and took it from me. There were no DVRs in my room, I had a TV with basic cable and a built in VCR.

Instead of wasting $20 on a CD with a couple good songs, we bought tapes that ended up breaking from being replayed so much. We spent the night gossiping with our best friends instead of posting it on Facebook. We didn’t have networks devoted to reality TV we had a network devoted to playing music videos. You didn’t buy books from your Kindle you went to the library and hoped someone didn’t already check your book out. Things were simpler before technology took over our lives. People were closer because we actually spent time together. What happened to the days when you passed a note to your crush that said “Do you like me check yes, no or maybe?” Maybe has turned into “it’s complicated.”

For More Like This—–> One Day You’ll Realize I’m Right

2 responses to “When I Was Your Age

  1. Pensaie says:

    I think you make an excellent point regarding technology and its role in our society today. I believe an intricate balance needs to exist between capitalizing on the benefits of technology and remembering that human contact is such an important part of our development. Thanks for a thoughtful perspective on such an important matter!

    • bionicdee122 says:

      Thanks for reading and giving feedback I appreciate it! Technology can be a wonderful thing but we can’t let it take over our lives either. You look at things like an fMRI machine which doctors can use to take images of the brain and look for diseases. Or take that one runner from the Olympics for example, it’s amazing that as a double amputee he’s able to continue to run because of the technology that created his new legs. But when it gets to the point that we’ve completely replaced human interaction with online chatting, then I think it’s gone too far. Especially children who spend all day inside instead of playing outside in the sunshine. We can’t let them give up on experiencing life.

You don't need to be a blogger to leave me some love

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

I Wore Yoga Pants To Work

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Brenda Lee

~Memoirs from the heart~

Travels with the Blonde Coyote

Follow the Blonde Coyote and see more of the world!

Nineteenfifteen

Know thyself

In "Nature"... I Believe

~finding faith and inspiration in nature

FilmGordon

A Year in the Life of a True Film Addict!

griefministerdotcom

Embracing Grief with Hope and Promise

Trend.Shook.co

Shook. Community powered.

The Sexy Single Mommy

Giving it to you straight with no chaser

graphite ventures of the mind

difference is naught we venture.

Pibbles & Me

Spreading Love One Pic At A Time

overworked supermom

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

MessyDirtyHair

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

a flock of crows

a cacophony of rants, reviews and bird feathers

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Thelonelyship

Confessions of a bald guy. Personal blog.

SwittersB & Exploring

Photography, Fly fishing, Life, Visuals & Fun

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Filing Jointly...finally

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Stream of the Conscious

Highlighting the headaches and hilarity that come with raising tiny twins.

All Fooked Up

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

simple-politiks.com/

The Independent Political Website ~ Plain & Simple Politics

Mind of Andy

Improve society through insights & life quality!

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

You Know it Happens at Your House Too

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

I Want a Dumpster Baby

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

ChecklistMommy

Love me, love my lists.

Perception is Everything

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

sugar coated angel

Beauty is within

theblackandwhitedragonfly

To the stolen heart

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Breathe In, Write Out..

My Life in Inklings by N. Knight

withheldindarkness

Poetry, creative writing, songs all in the words of ...

||carlysarah

aspiring storyteller dabbling with words, quotes, and phrases | i believe language to be one of the most beautiful of things in this world, if used properly and with good intention.

River Song

Sylvie Ashford's art and poetry.

Ethereal Heights

a blog by Sharmishtha Basu (Agnishatdal, Agnijaat, Indie Adda and Agnijashatadalama)

Defy Society

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Molenda's Musings

I'm a Molenda, and these are my musings

NealEnJoy

Exploring and Encouraging a Healthy Life Marked with Joy

