~ BIONIC DEE ~

We Can Rebuild Her……..we think

My First Job

on September 12, 2012

I’ve had some interesting jobs in my lifetime. I’ve worked almost steadily since the age of 16 up until now. The only time I didn’t have a job was during the 6 months I was at Stockton College in NJ and while I was at The Restaurant School. Well technically I did work when I was at The Restaurant School, I just didn’t get paid for it. Anywho, my first job was working for the Summer Housing Department at the University of Pennsylvania. Say what now? Yeah I know not your typical job for a teenager, but I liked it. I got the job because of my mom, she worked at UPenn in the Academic Housing department. I basically grew up on that campus. When I was little I used to love walking through the mini parks they had scattered around the campus. All of her co-workers loved me and I loved tagging along with them whenever my mom was busy. Kind of funny that outside of my mom and her best friend Ms. Jean these were the only people who called me by my full first name instead of my nickname. I think they just loved saying my name I don’t know.

This is the high rise my mom worked in….Hi Academic Housing!!

As a kid I had no clue what my mom’s job really meant, all I knew was she worked in a high rise and dealt with a lot of cranky people all day. There’s a difference between middle class cranky and rich cranky. When I turned 16 my mom thought it was time for me to get a job. Since I was so familiar with the UPenn campus, it just seemed natural that I should work there too. Basically me and my friend Melissa would push this big old bin on wheels from high rise to high rise. They’d give us a list of the rooms that needed to be checked on and we were on our way. Had all the essentials we needed for cleaning the rooms and whatnot stuffed in that wheely bin. Here’s where it gets interesting….it’s amazing the things people leave behind. So we’d go into these rooms the summer semester students were using and run through the list. Making notes about damage to the room, cleaning it up, taking the linens and dumping them in bags so they could be washed, and leaving clean linens behind. Some of the rooms weren’t too bad. But other ones look like someone had a rave the night before. College kids are nasty! And they would leave behind things that were either cool, broken or just oh-my-god-you’re-seven-types-of-nasty. Rich kids don’t care what condition the things they leave behind are in, they can just replace them  the next day. So we’ve seen lamps, radios, dishes, clothes, shoes, books, used condoms. All types of random things left behind. I only worked during the summer because my mom was worried about me keeping my grades up. But I worked there two summers in a row. It was a fun, interesting job to say the least. But it made me thankful for the things I had, and made me want to work harder for the things I wanted.

No clue what the name is for this art piece so mom and I called it The Dueling Tampons

You don't need to be a blogger to leave me some love

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

I Wore Yoga Pants To Work

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Brenda Lee

~Memoirs from the heart~

Travels with the Blonde Coyote

Follow the Blonde Coyote and see more of the world!

Nineteenfifteen

Know thyself

In "Nature"... I Believe

~finding faith and inspiration in nature

FilmGordon

A Year in the Life of a True Film Addict!

griefministerdotcom

Embracing Grief with Hope and Promise

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Trend.Shook.co

Shook. Community powered.

The Sexy Single Mommy

Giving it to you straight with no chaser

graphite ventures of the mind

difference is naught we venture.

Pibbles & Me

Spreading Love One Pic At A Time

Forestbather

Study of forests

overworked supermom

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

MessyDirtyHair

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

a flock of crows

a cacophony of rants, reviews and bird feathers

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Thelonelyship

Confessions of a bald guy. Personal blog.

SwittersB & Exploring

Photography, Fly fishing, Life, Visuals & Fun

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Filing Jointly...finally

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Stream of the Conscious

Highlighting the headaches and hilarity that come with raising tiny twins.

All Fooked Up

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

simple-politiks.com/

The Independent Political Website ~ Plain & Simple Politics

Mind of Andy

Improve society through insights & life quality!

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

You Know it Happens at Your House Too

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

I Want a Dumpster Baby

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

ChecklistMommy

Love me, love my lists.

Perception is Everything

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

sugar coated angel

Beauty is within

theblackandwhitedragonfly

To the stolen heart

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Breathe In, Write Out..

My Life in Inklings by N. Knight

withheldindarkness

Poetry, creative writing, songs all in the words of ...

||carlysarah

aspiring storyteller dabbling with words, quotes, and phrases | i believe language to be one of the most beautiful of things in this world, if used properly and with good intention.

River Song

Sylvie Ashford's art and poetry.

Ethereal Heights

a blog by Sharmishtha Basu (Agnishatdal, Agnijaat, Indie Adda and Agnijashatadalama)

Defy Society

We Can Rebuild Her........we think

Molenda's Musings

I'm a Molenda, and these are my musings

NealEnJoy

Exploring and Encouraging a Healthy Life Marked with Joy

